Skip to ContentSkip to Footer

Dr. Lou Orchard

Associate Professor

Office: College of Business 252
Accounting, Economics, and Finance
College of Business


Dr. Orchard has taught accounting for over twenty-five years. He earned his B.A. and his MBA from the University of Washington, and his Ph.D. from the University of Arizona.


Ph D, Business Administration (Accounting), University of Arizona, 1998

MBA, University of Washington, 1992

BA, Business Administration (Accounting), University of Washington, 1978

Awards and Honors

Heritage Bank University Professor (2016-2018), CSU, Heritage Bank and the Clayton State University Foundation, Award, 2016

2010 Teaching Professor of the Year, Clayton State University College of Business, Award, 2011

Intellectual Contributions

Lou Orchard, Matthew L Hoag, Revenue process internal controls for manufacturers: An evaluation tool for independent auditors and managers, Journal of Business & Economics Research – March 31 2014

Scott L. Butterfield, Lou Orchard, Corporate Inversions and Fair Play, Journal of Applied Business Research – May 2013

Lou Orchard, Scott Butterfield, An Internal control evaluation tool for revenue in the homebuilding industry, Business Journal for Entrepreneurs – December 2011

Lou Orchard, An internal control evaluation tool for advertising revenue in the newspaper and magazine publishing industry, Journal of Business & Economics Research – September 2010

Lou Orchard, Scott L. Butterfield, An internal control evaluation tool for the construction industry, Journal of Business & Economics Research – December 2009

Service to the University & University System of Georgia

College, Assessment Committee, Committee Chair –  August 15 2011 to August 15 2018

University, University Hearing Panel, Committee Member –  August 15 2016 to August 15 2019

University, Miscellaneous Fee Committee, Committee Member –  September 15 2015 to December 31 2022

University, Alice Smith Faculty Award Committee, Committee Member –  August 15 2009 to May 10 2017

College, Curriculum Committee, Committee Member –  August 15 2018 to December 31 2020